Home | Tag Archives: Agriculture

Tag Archives: Agriculture

Election approaching for KS Dept of Ag

The Kansas Department of Agriculture reminds prospective candidates for the state’s five grain commodity commissions to begin collecting signatures for the 2013 election.  Corn, wheat, grain sorghum, soybean, and sunflower producers must gather signatures from fellow producers in their region by November 30, 2012.  Districts 7,8, & 9 will hold elections.  Marshall, Nemaha, Pottawatomie, and Riley Counties are part of ... Read More »

Specialty Crop Block Grant Program Open

The Kansas Department of Agriculture is accepting applications for the 2012 Specialty Crop Block Grant program. Funds for the program are awarded to the agency by the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Agricultural Marketing Service. The funds are in turn granted to projects and organizations that promote the competitiveness of specialty crops. In 2012, Kansas will receive $258,363 for the grant ... Read More »

U.S. Secretary of Agriculture to Visit K-State

Tom Vilsack, the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture, will present a speech as part of Kansas State University’s Landon Lecture series. The talk is scheduled for 10:30 a.m. April 10 in McCain Auditorium. Jackie Hartman, university chief of staff and chairwoman of the lecture series, said she was excited to bring Vilsack to K-State. Read More »

Marysville City Library Moves Forward with Rennovation Plans

The Marysville City Council will continue the process to make major renovations.  Library Board President Amy Heiman said the project would include major changes to the interior of the building.  According to Heimen the cost of the proposed renovations is $276,489.  She said the library has approximately $150,000 in capital outlay funds.  She said the library may apply for U.S. ... Read More »

Kansas Agriculture Service Downgrades Crop Conditions

In its weekly updated, Kansas Agricultural Statistics Service reported Monday that about 41 percent of the corn crop is in poor to very poor condition. About 26 percent was rated fair, with 27 percent in good condition and just 6 percent in excellent shape. Soybean condition declined slightly over the week, with 41 percent of the crop now in poor ... Read More »

USDA designates counties as natural disaster areas

   WASHINGTON, July 18, 2011 — The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated 15 counties in Nebraska as primary natural disaster areas due to flooding that began May 1, 2011, and continues.      “This action provides help to hundreds of producers who suffered significant losses to corn, soybeans, dry beans, sugar beets, wheat, and forage crops, as well as ... Read More »

USDA offers resources for those affected by extreme weather

WASHINGTON, July 15, 2011 —The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) reminds farmers and ranchers in states across the country that USDA offers a variety of resources for those affected by recent extreme weather, including floods, drought, fires and tornadoes. USDA also urges producers in need or those with questions to contact their local county or state USDA Service Center or ... Read More »

Governor Reorganizes State Ag Department

Kansas Governor Sam Brownback signed an executive order this week that consolidates the functions of the State Agriculture Agencies. Brownback’s move creates within the Ag Department the Animal Health Division which will now include the Animal Health Department and the Livestock Commissioner. The new division will be headed by the Animal Health Commissioner. Brownback – a former State Ag Secretary ... Read More »

Apply now for state’s grain commodity commissions

Grain growers in central Kansas who plan to campaign for a seat on one of the  state’s five grain commodity commissions—corn, grain sorghum, soybeans, wheat or sunflowers—should be gathering petition signatures now to meet the Nov. 30, 2010, filing deadline. The 2011 election will cover districts four, five and six, or the central third of Kansas.  District four includes Clay, ... Read More »

USDA declares Marshall County primary disaster area

U.S. Senator Pat Roberts announced Tuesday that the U.S. Department of Agriculture that Marshall County had be designated as a primary natural disaster area.  The designation was the result of damage sustained during severe weather that occurred from May 6-June 20. Nemaha and Pottawatomie counties were among 25 counties designated as contiguous disaster counties. The USDA designation make will make ... Read More »