Home | Author Archives: Jeff Ottens (page 42)

Author Archives: Jeff Ottens

Washington County Board Meeting Minutes


           COMMISSION MINUTES, March 5, 2012            The Board of Washington County Commission met in regular session on Monday, March 5, 2012 in the commission room at the Washington County Courthouse.  Present: Alison Mueller, 1st District Commissioner, Chairman; Roger Otott, 2nd District Commissioner; Gene Helms, 3rd District Commissioner; Elizabeth Hiltgen, County Attorney and Lou Kern, County Clerk.      ... Read More »

Good Shepherd Lutheran School Celebration


MARYSVILLE, KS, February 15, 2012:    Good Shepherd Lutheran School, Marysville, KS, will be celebrating along with other Lutheran schools across the country during National Lutheran Schools Week March 4 through March 10, 2012.  The theme is “Securing Each Child’s Future: Equipped.”    As Rev. Dr. Matthew C. Harrison, President of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod, made reference in the 2012 National ... Read More »

Marshall County Board Meeting


March 5, 2012   The Board of Marshall County Commissioners met in regular session with Thomas K. Holle Chairman; Charles R. Loiseau and Robert S. Connell members; and Sonya L. Stohs, County Clerk present.   The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m.   The Board opened the meeting with the flag salute.   The minutes and agenda were ... Read More »

Bern and Summerfield Schools will Close

USD 113 School Closings

The Prairie Hills USD 113 board of education voted to close both the Bern and Summerfield schools at a special meeting on Saturday morning.  The board voted 6-1 to close the Summerfield Elementary School by June 30th, 2013 and voted 6-1 to close the Bern Attendance Center at the end of the current school year. Board member Brent Lortscher cast ... Read More »

Area Sub-State Basketball Scores – March 2

KNDY Substate Banner

Class 3A Girls: ACCHS 43 – Marysville 39 Class 1A Division 1 Girls: Hanover 58 – Valley Heights 52 Centralia 53 – Blue Valley 34 Class 1A Division 2 Girls: Wetmore 59 – Axtell 9 B&B Baileyville 59 – Frankfort 31 Read More »

KDOT Plans Coon Creek Bridge Closure


The Kansas Department of Transportation (KDOT) has started the process to close the Coon Creek Bridge on Highway 9 one mile west of Waterville.  The closure will take place in 2014 and last approximately six months.  The latest KDOT plans do not include a sho-fly and no detour has been designated.  The sho-fly is an alternate road at the site ... Read More »

Marshall County Presidential Caucus March 10th


Marshall County will hold its Presidential Caucus on March 10th at the Helvering Center, 111 S. 8th Street in Marysville.  Marshall County Republican Party Chairman Bill Phillipi said the building will open at 10 a.m.  To participate in the caucus you must have registered as a republican before February 17th.  Additional information is available at www.ksgop or questions can be ... Read More »

Surgeon Added to CMH Outpatient Clinic


Cardiothoracic surgeon Richard Thompson, MD, BryanLGH Heart Institute, Lincoln, NE, will provide specialty services at Community Memorial Healthcare (CMH) Outpatient Clinic beginning April 10, 2012. Dr. Thompson will continue seeing patients the second Tuesday of every month. Dr. Thompson is Board certified in general surgery and thoracic surgery. He is a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons, the American ... Read More »

Harveyville Disaster Relief Update


The Kansas Adjutant General’s Office is asking anyone who wishes to volunteer labor for the Harveyville Tornado Relief Effort to report between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Saturday or between noon and 5 p.m. Sunday to Mission Valley High School, 12913 Mission Valley Road, in Eskridge, which is 13 miles from Harveyville.  Buses will transport volunteers from Eskridge to Harveyville. ... Read More »