Marysville, KansasLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.
Home | KNDY News | BVTC Announces 2014 Scholarship Recipients

BVTC Announces 2014 Scholarship Recipients

Schmitz Named Distinguished ILEC Recipient

Blue Valley Tele-Communications is pleased to announce its 2014 Scholarship recipients. Awarding $16,000 in scholarships, BVTC is committed to supporting the continued education of its youth. Tracy Schmitz, Axtell, was awarded the Distinguished ILEC scholarship award of $2500. Winning an ILEC scholarship of $750 were Hillary Ronnebaum, Home; Samantha Meier, Palmer; Coleman Forst, Oketo; Hail Stiner, Vermillion; Branson Kocher, Onaga; Tricia Schmitz, Axtell; Teresa Kearn, Linn; Hunter Haufler, Centralia; Chance Maginness, Westmoreland; Benjamin Koch, Beattie; BrookeLynn Minihan, Wheaton; and David Detweiler, Summerfield. Winning the CLEC Scholarship of $750 was Lesley Frohberg, Waterville. An additional five $750 At-Large Scholarships were awarded to Blair Burdiek, Centralia; Josh Meyer, Linn; Ernst Kurt Van der Merwe, Linn; Keyanna Kocher, Onaga; and Bailey McKay, Marysville.

Holtmeier Selected for Youth Tour

Each year BVTC selects one student from its service area for an all-expenses paid trip to Washington D.C. The student represents the company during site seeing activities and educational sessions. This year, Erin Holtmeier, Linn was selected. She will travel to our Nation’s capital in June along with over 100 other rural students to learn about rural telephony. Applicants were required to submit an essay depicting what life is like in a rural community.

Weber Receives PRIMO Scholarship

Mollee Weber, Frankfort, was selected as a recipient of a $500 PRIMO scholarship. PRIMO is a multi-state organization dedicated to educating telecommunications’ marketing and public relations employees. As a member of the organization, all BVTC customers are eligible to apply. Special attention is given to students majoring in marketing or public relations. A total of five scholarships are awarded annually.

About Submitted To KNDY AM & FM