Marysville, KansasLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.
Home | KNDY News | Washington County Commission Minutes – June 24

Washington County Commission Minutes – June 24

The Board of Washington County Commission met in regular session on Monday, June 24, 2013 in the commission room at the Washington County Courthouse. Present: Alison Mueller, 1st District Commissioner, Chairwoman; Roger Otott, Vice Chairman, 2nd District Commissioner; Gary Ouellette, 3rd District Commissioner; and Denae Dimler, County Clerk.

Next regular meeting will be Monday, July 1, 2013 at 8:30 A.M.

Chairwoman Mueller called the meeting to order.

Janice Kearn, Health Department Administrator, asked Chairwoman Mueller to sign the Public Health Emergency Preparedness (PHEP) contract. Chairwoman Mueller signed the contract.

Denae Dimler, County Clerk, presented payroll and bills totaling $306,336.98. Denae reported that Mary Leck, Elections clerk, has accepted a position in the 911 center as a dispatcher. Denae presented the 2014 budget request for Northeast Kansas Area Agency on Aging.

Duane Bruna, Environmental Science Director, presented his 2014 budget requests.

Deb Swoboda, Emergency Preparedness Director, presented the preliminary copies of the Flood Insurance Rate Map (FIRM) and Flood Insurance Study (FIS) report for Washington County from FEMA. The community has 30 days to review the maps to identify change or corrections to non-technical information. The maps are available for public viewing in the Clerk’s office in the Courthouse. The maps are also available online at

Commissioner Otott made a motion to purchase an additional 100 weather radios. Commissioner Ouellette seconded. Motion passed 3-0.

Justin Cordry, Sheriff, reported there are 4 Washington County and 1 Marshall County inmates in the jail. Sedgwick County will no longer be using our facility to house inmates.

Francine Crome, Appraiser, discussed her contract renewal with the Board. A new contract will be drawn up by the County Attorney.

Diana Svanda, Payroll clerk, was asked by the Board to provide information on the capabilities of the software the County uses for payroll.

David Willbrant, Public Works Director, gave information on the work performed in the County last week. The Board approved the purchase of a trailer for $2500 to haul mowers and the purchase of a Jeep for $250 to be used for parts on a Jeep in inventory at Public Works.

Commissioner Otott made a motion to enter into executive session. Commissioner Ouellette seconded. Motion passed 3-0. Those present were the 3 Commissioners and Don Alldredge, Janitor. No action taken.

Shirley Marrs, District Court Clerk, asked about access to a credit card for her office.

Commissioner Otott made a motion to enter into executive session. Commissioner Ouellette seconded. Motion passed 3-0. Those present were the 3 Commissioners, Sheila Ouellette and Theresa Herrs, Communication Director and Deputy Communication Director respectively. No action taken.

The Board met as the Public Building Commission (PBC) from 1:30 to 2:30. The PBC will meet again on July 1 and July 3.

The Board approved and signed official minutes from May 28, June 3 and June 10.

The meeting adjourned at 3:00 P.M.

About Derek Nester

Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids, and graduated from Valley Heights High School in May of 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communication. After stops at KFRM and KCLY radio in Clay Center, he joined KNDY in 2002 as a board operator and play by play announcer. Derek is now responsible for the digital content of Dierking Communications, Inc. six radio stations. In 2005 Derek joined the staff of KCFX radio in Kansas City as a production coordinator for the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, which airs on over 70 radio stations across 12 Midwest states and growing.