Marysville, KansasLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.
Home | KNDY Sports | Kansas Coaches and Officials Recognized

Kansas Coaches and Officials Recognized

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The National Federation Coaches Association (NFCA) has recognized the following Kansas coaches for 2012 as NFCA State of Kansas Coaches of the Year Award Winners. These coaches are recognized for their professionalism, leadership and years of service to Kansas youth.

In addition, the coaches listed below with an *-asterisk were honored as NFCA – Section 5 Award Winners. These coaches were selected as Coaches of the Year from Section 5 of the National Federation of High School Associations (NFHS) which include Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota. Coaches listed with a ** – asterisk are National Award winners.

  • *Football Greg Slade, Rose Hill
  • *8-Man FB Jeffery Blattner, Montezuma-South Gray
  • *Baseball Bill McDonald, OP-Blue Valley-West
  • *Soccer (B) Bobby Bribiesca, Wichita-Northwest
  • *Cross Country (B) Richard Cox, Scandia-Pike Valley
  • *Track (G) Jason Broaddus, Rossville
  • *Tennis (G) Kathy Schulte, Wichita-Kapaun Mt. Carmel
  • *Swim/Dive (G) Vicki Scheuermann, Newton
  • **Swim/Dive (B) Bruce Bove, Shawnee Mission-South
  • Track (B) Jon Webster, La Crosse
  • *Basketball (B) Joe Auer, Wichita-Heights
  • Wrestling Jason Brown, Garnett-Anderson County
  • *Tennis (B) Nicholas Sisson, Newton
  • Volleyball Sandy Arnold, Hillsboro
  • *Softball Brenda Holaday, Topeka-Washburn Rural
  • **Soccer (G) Terry Hair, Olathe-East
  • Cross Country (G) Bianca Williams, Shawnee-Maranatha Academy
  • *Basketball (G) Kip Pulliam, Wichita-Heights
  • *Golf (B) Cathy Dauner, Mankato-Rock Hills
  • Bowling (G) Dalene Moomau, Olathe-North
  • Gymnastics Chuck Lundblad, Shawnee Mission-North
  • Middle School Randy Walling, Clay Center
  • *Spirit Patricia Lenning, Baldwin

Kansas Officials Honored

The (NFOA) has recognized 12 Kansas officials for the year 2012. The KSHSAA wishes to congratulate each of these individuals for awards received and their long hours (and miles) logged in service to Kansas youth. Their professionalism, high standard of sportsmanship, ethical conduct and moral character is applauded and admired.

  • Football Craig Helser, Wichita
  • Volleyball Cynthia Loganbill, Wichita
  • Soccer (B) Khai Trieu, Overland Park
  • Basketball (B) Brett Lukert, Sabetha
  • Basketball (G) Randy Richter, Lakin
  • Wrestling Craig Ewert, Lee Summit
  • Soccer (G) Troy Fowler, Wichita
  • Softball Robert Aman, Emporia
  • Baseball Chris Kaufman, Winfield
  • Track & Field (B) Brad Clark, Olathe
  • Track & Field (G) Curtis Conrad, Cheney
  • Gymnastics John Comstock, Kansas City
  • Active Official Jeff Freeman, Topeka

About Derek Nester

Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids, and graduated from Valley Heights High School in May of 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communication. After stops at KFRM and KCLY radio in Clay Center, he joined KNDY in 2002 as a board operator and play by play announcer. Derek is now responsible for the digital content of Dierking Communications, Inc. six radio stations. In 2005 Derek joined the staff of KCFX radio in Kansas City as a production coordinator for the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, which airs on over 70 radio stations across 12 Midwest states and growing.