Marysville, KansasLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.
Home | KNDY News | Washington County Commissioners Minutes 12-10-2012

Washington County Commissioners Minutes 12-10-2012

COMMISSION MINUTES, December 10, 2012


The Board of Washington County Commission met in regular session on Monday, December 10, 2012 in the commission room at the Washington County Courthouse.  Present:  Alison Mueller, 1st District Commissioner, Chairman; Roger Otott, Vice Chairman, 2nd District Commissioner; Gene Helms, 3rd District Commissioner; Elizabeth Hiltgen, County Attorney, and Lou Kern, County Clerk.   Denae Dimler, County Clerk Elect, was also present.


Chairman Mueller called the meeting to order.


Next regular meeting will be Monday, December 17, 2012 at 8:30 A.M.  The board will act as the Board of County Canvassers to canvass the election results for the December 11 Special Election.


The commission will not hold a weekly meeting during Christmas week.  The board will meet on December 31, 2012 to close out the year end.


The board approved and signed change order nos. 2012-25.


The board approved and signed official minutes from December 3, 2012.


The board approved bills and payroll totaling $185,552.30.


The board examined inventory for County Treasurer; Register of Deeds; Travel and Tourism and the former economic development office.


The board approved and Chairman Mueller signed Official Bond and Affidavit of Sureties Kathryn Diederich, Greenleaf Township Treasurer; Darrell Schlabach, Hanover Township Trustee; Rick L. Pralle, Hanover Township Treasurer; Michael G. Meier, Independence Township Treasurer; Kathy Simmons, Logan Township Treasurer; Lee F. Rieth, Logan Township Trustee; Robert L. Tuma, Lowe Township Trustee; Nathan Meyerhoff, Sheridan Township Treasurer; Alan E. Oehmke, Sheridan Township Trustee; Terri K. Gauby, Washington Township Treasurer; Murray L. Dague, Washington Township Trustee; Matt Diederich, Kimeo Township Trustee; Tyler Rose, Union Township Trustee; Michael Rencin, Little Blue Township Treasurer; Rod Arbuthnot, Union Township Treasurer; and Jim Bruna, Little Blue Township Trustee.


Sheila Ouellette, Communications Director and Janice Kearn, R.N., County Health Director, discussed insurance costs for part time employees.  The board agreed to accept the plan that Janice and Sheila presented.  Janice was given permission to sign an agreement to accept an 800 megahrtz radio through Homeland Security funding.


The board approved the cereal malt beverage license from Pony Express Services Center LLC and Chairman Mueller signed Notice to Hanover Township Board Clerk.


Gloria Moore, Tourism Director, brought information regarding maintenance of the 6th Principal Meridian marker.  Amanda Sinn has agreed to mow and weedeat for $600.00 per year.  Thayer and Jefferson Nebraska County Commissioners have agreed to each pay one-fourth of the cost as has Washington County.  A call was placed to the Republic County Commission to ask if they would participate in funding the upkeep.  The Republic County Commission agreed to pay their one-fourth of the $600.00.


Duane Bruna, Noxious Weed and Solid Waste Director, reported on routine maintenance matters.  Duane is working on the facility operation plan for C & D.  The board approved and Chairman Mueller signed payroll change notice for Kurt Funke as a new employee, effective December 10, 2012.


Tony Deuver and Rob Pieschel, CES Group, brought in a Christmas plate and told the board that they would be doing the final inspection on the B Street project today.


At 10:00 A.M. the board opened the floor for comments on the amended 2012 budget.  No appearances were noted.  Roger Otott moved to approve the 2012 amended budget as published.  Gene Helms seconded and motion carried.


Rick Samland and Nick Garber, RFD #10 met with the board and Elizabeth Hiltgen, County Attorney, to discuss the current bylaws for the RFD.  Also present were Ellen Pralle and Brad Schwartz.  Also discussed was who would be eligible to vote and how and when elections would be held.  The matter needs to be discussed among the membership of the RFD and bylaws adopted.   Elizabeth Hiltgen agreed that she would be able to assist.


Sheriff Bill Dickson and Undersheriff Wes Weber reported that the jail currently houses 10 Sedgwick County inmates and 4 Washington County inmates.  At 11:47 A.M. Gene Helms moved to go into executive session with the Sheriff, Undersheriff and Elizabeth Hiltgen, County Attorney, for 20 minutes to discuss non elected personnel.  At 11:07 A.M. the board returned to regular session.  No action was taken.  The commission told Wes Weber that he may purchase the pants that he has worn as Undersheriff for $5.00 per pair.


David Willbrant, Public Works Administrator, gave weekly work report and budget report.  The roof of the shop building is worn through to the insulation.  David will meet with City representatives, Goodman Construction and CES Group at 2:00 P.M. for a walk through on the B Street project.  David met with KDOT representatives  and TranSystems representatives who have produced a scour critical report.  14 bridges have been flagged in the report.  David and Mike Schuessler attended MUTCD training in Salina last week.  Numerous signs have changed.  The guidelines for marking the center line of county oil roads is required when the traffic count is over 6,000 vehicles per day.


The meeting adjourned at 12:40 P.M.


About Kevin Rippe

Kevin Rippe was born in Marysville and moved to Smith Center at the age of 1, then graduated from Smith Center High School in 1995. He graduated from Cloud County Community College in 1997, and joined the staff of KKAN/KQMA radio in Phillipsburg a year later. Since June of 2011 Kevin has been with us here at Your Country KNDY. You can hear Kevin on daily news reports, as well as calling area high school football and basketball. Kevin lives in Marysville with his wife Melissa, and 4 children Brennen, Jacob, Bailee, and Joshua.