Marysville, KansasLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.
Home | KNDY News | Washington County Commissioner Minutes 12-3-2012

Washington County Commissioner Minutes 12-3-2012

COMMISSION MINUTES, December 3, 2012


The Board of Washington County Commission met in regular session on Monday, December 3, 2012 in the commission room at the Washington County Courthouse.  Present:  Alison Mueller, 1st District Commissioner, Chairman; Roger Otott, Vice Chairman, 2nd District Commissioner; Gene Helms, 3rd District Commissioner; Elizabeth Hiltgen, County Attorney, and Lou Kern, County Clerk.   Denae Dimler, County Clerk Elect, was also present.


Chairman Mueller called the meeting to order.


Next regular meeting will be Monday, December 10, 2012 at 8:30 A.M.


The commission will not hold a weekly meeting during Christmas week.  The board will meet on December 31, 2012 to close out the year end.


At 8:35 A.M. Gene Helms moved and Roger Otott seconded to go into executive session with Janice Kearn, R.N., County Health Director, for 20 minutes to discuss non elected personnel.  Motion carried.  At 9:55 A.M. the board returned to regular session.  No action was taken.


The board approved and signed change order nos. 2012-13 through 2012-24.


The board approved and signed official minutes from November 5 through November 26.


Marlene Stamm, Sanitarian, gave update of services.  Marlene has closed 8 pending permits and opened 11 new permits.


The board received a letter from ThyssenKrupp Elevator Company demanding payment of a bill that the county had cancelled.  The board visited with Elizabeth Hiltgen, County Attorney, who will write a response to the company.


The board approved and Chairman Mueller signed pay request #2 for Goodman Construction on the B Street project.


The board approved and Chairman Mueller signed official oath and affidavit of sureties for Dennis Alexander, Clifton Township Treasurer; Kent Condray, Clifton Township Trustee; Todd A. Hughes, Farmington Township Trustee; Vincent A. Bruna, Franklin Township Treasurer; James Elmer Kolle, Linn Township Treasurer; Robbie Lee Oelschlager, Sherman Township Trustee; Patrick Zach, Lowe Township Treasurer; Daniel Meyer, Strawberry Township Treasurer, and Ronald W. Meyer, Independence Township Trustee.


Bonnie Miller, AFLAC representative, met with the board.  Bonnie discussed the vision plan that she will be offering to employees.


Duane Bruna, Noxious Weed and Solid Waste Director, reported on an offer of a free building in Clifton to be used for recycling.  The board decided to decline the offer and thanked the donor for the offer.  Duane mentioned that he would like to purchase a laptop computer for recycling education.  The board will consider the request after the first of the year.  The RC&D volunteer will pick up used bicycles from the solid waste facility for transport to a prison facility.  The inmates refurbish the bicycles and return them to the counties that participate in the program.


Twila L’Ecuyer spoke with the board regarding the two million dollar grant that has been received by the Flint Hills Regional Council to promote economic vitality, cultural and natural resource preservation and national defense.  The first meeting is set for tonight at Home Town Café in Barnes at 6:30 P.M.


Roger Otott moved and Alison Mueller seconded to sign the City-County Law Enforcement Contract for 2013.  Motion carried.


Trey Springer, ING representative, asked the board to consider adding a provision to the ING Deferred Compensation plan that would allow employees to borrow against their savings.  The board agreed that Lou Kern, County Clerk, should sign the necessary paperwork.


Sheriff Bill Dickson and Undersheriff Wes Weber reported that the jail currently houses 10 Sedgwick County inmates and 4 Washington County inmates.  Livescan is installed and running.

David Willbrant, Public Works Administrator, gave weekly work report.  David asked that all claim forms from AT&T be sent to him at the same time that Kastl Powell Insurance Agency receives them.  There has been issues with AT&T lines being in the county right of way.  David and Mike Schuessler will attend MUTCD training in Salina.


Lou Kern, County Clerk, reports that the cost of ballot printing for the special election is $6,397.48.


Meeting adjourned at 11:55 A.M.

About Kevin Rippe

Kevin Rippe was born in Marysville and moved to Smith Center at the age of 1, then graduated from Smith Center High School in 1995. He graduated from Cloud County Community College in 1997, and joined the staff of KKAN/KQMA radio in Phillipsburg a year later. Since June of 2011 Kevin has been with us here at Your Country KNDY. You can hear Kevin on daily news reports, as well as calling area high school football and basketball. Kevin lives in Marysville with his wife Melissa, and 4 children Brennen, Jacob, Bailee, and Joshua.