Marysville, KansasLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.
Home | KNDY News | Washington County Commissioner Minutes 11-19-2012

Washington County Commissioner Minutes 11-19-2012


The Board of Washington County Commissioners met in regular session on Monday, November 19, 2012 in the commission room at the Washington County Courthouse.  Present:  Alison Mueller, 1st District Commissioner, Chairman; Roger Otott, Vice Chairman 2nd District Commissioner; Gene Helms, 3rd District Commissioner; Elizabeth Hiltgen, County Attorney and Kathy Fritz, Deputy Clerk.

The board met as the Board of County Canvassers on November 15th at 8:30 A.M. to canvass the November 6 General Election results.  Kathy Fritz substituted for Gene Helms who was absent.  Denae Dimler was also present.  After consideration of the results submitted and counting the provisional ballots no contest outcomes were changed.

Chairman Mueller called the meeting to order.

The next regular meeting will be Monday, November 26, 2012 at 8:30 A.M.

Regan Holthaus, Family Heritage Insurance agent met with the board.  All employees will be provided a questionnaire about their plan with their next check.

The Board received declination to serve from Roger Bott as Sherman Township Treasurer, Richard John Miller as Mill Creek Treasurer and Donald Flagle as Union Township Trustee.

The board approved and signed change order nos. 2012-4 and 2012-5.

The board signed a letter of support for the request of Twin Valley Developmental Services, Inc for the application of a section 5310 and 5311 transportation grant to provide services for the citizens of Washington County.

Duane Bruna, Noxious Weed and Solid Waste Director, reported on the spraying of county roads that his department has been doing.

Gloria Moore, Tourism Director, gave her monthly update for October and November.

Gene Helms moved and Roger Otott seconded to appoint Tyler Rose as Union Township Trustee upon the recommendation of Rod Arbuthnot, Union Township Treasurer due to the resignation of Donald Flagle.  Motion carried.

Undersheriff Wesley Weber reported that the jail is currently housing 11 Sedgwick County inmates and 3 Washington County inmates. He reported that the video conferencing equipment is in.  At 10:30 A.M. Gene Helms moved to go into executive session with the board for 5 minutes to discuss non elected personnel.  Roger Otott seconded and motion carried.  At 10:35 A.M. the board returned to regular session.  No action was taken.

At 10:45 A.M. Roger Otott moved to go into executive session with Elizabeth Hiltgen, County Attorney under attorney client privilege for ten minutes.  Gene Helms seconded and motion carried.  At 10:55 A.M. the board returned to regular session.  No action was taken.

David Willbrant, Public Works Administrator, gave his weekly work report.  Roger Otott moved to accept the only gas bid from Kramer Oil for $25,732.50.  Gene Helms seconded and motion carried.  David and the board discussed equipment needs.

The meeting adjourned at 12:20 P.M.

About Kevin Rippe

Kevin Rippe was born in Marysville and moved to Smith Center at the age of 1, then graduated from Smith Center High School in 1995. He graduated from Cloud County Community College in 1997, and joined the staff of KKAN/KQMA radio in Phillipsburg a year later. Since June of 2011 Kevin has been with us here at Your Country KNDY. You can hear Kevin on daily news reports, as well as calling area high school football and basketball. Kevin lives in Marysville with his wife Melissa, and 4 children Brennen, Jacob, Bailee, and Joshua.