Marysville, KansasLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.
Home | KNDY News | Washington County Commissioners Minutes 8-6-12

Washington County Commissioners Minutes 8-6-12

COMMISSION MINUTES, August 6, 2012        


The Board of Washington County Commission met in regular session on Monday, August 6, 2012 in the commission room at the Washington County Courthouse.  Present:  Alison Mueller, 1st District Commissioner, Chairman; Roger Otott, Vice Chairman, 2nd District Commissioner; Gene Helms, 3rd District Commissioner, Elizabeth Hiltgen, County Attorney and Lou Kern, County Clerk. 


Chairman Mueller called the meeting to order.


The next regular meeting is Monday, August 13, 2012 at 8:30 A.M.   The board will meet as the Board of County Canvassers at 8:30 A.M. before any appointments will be honored.


The commission met with John Denney, county auditor, to prepare the 2013 county budget.  The mill levy will remain at 81.006 mills, the same as the 2012 mill levy.  The mill levy for 2011 was 81.066 mills. Roger Otott moved and Gene Helms seconded to set the hearing of the 2013 budget for August 20 at 9:00 A.M. and to pass Resolution No. 07-12 expressing the property taxation policy with respect to financing the 2013 annual budget.  Motion carried.


A public meeting to review the draft flood plain mapping is set for August 14 at 10:00 A.M. in the commission room of the Courthouse.


The board approved bills and payroll totaling $213,853.89.


Chad Hiltgen, Blue Valley Telecommunications, brought in a proposal to provide telephone repair services to the county telephone system for $70.00 per hour with no trip charge.  Blue Valley cannot provide service to the telephone systems in Dispatch/Sheriff, Public Works or County Health Departments.


Duane Bruna, Noxious Weed and Solid Waste Director, reported on routine matters.


Gene Helms moved and Roger Otott seconded to adopt Resolution 08-12 for participation in the National Flood Insurance Plan.  Motion carried.  Debbie Swoboda, Emergency Management Coordinator, reminded the board of the LEPC meeting tonite at 5:30 P.M. in the Law Enforcement Center basement.  The commission decided to extend the burn ban for another 7 days.


Janice Kearn, R.N., County Health Director, brought in payroll change notice for Rox Anne Zabokrtsky due to increased in hours and completion of training period that Chairman Mueller signed.  Janice was present when the Commission spoke with the Cloud County Commission regarding the letter both commissions have received from Rural Lakes Region LEPP stating that no further permitting and/or inspections will be done in their counties.  Both boards agreed that they would work together to find a solution to water well and lagoon permitting and inspections.


The board received notice of plans from J-Six for the Ouellette swine facility in Kimeo Township.


Sheriff Bill Dickson and Undersheriff Wes Weber spoke with the board regarding change of hours for deputies.

Deputies would be paid any overtime hours on the second pay period of the month.   


David Willbrant, Public Works Administrator, did not meet with the commission.  The board approved and Chairman Mueller signed payroll change notice for Tim Duis due to resignation effective August 17, 2012.


The board spoke with Elizabeth Hiltgen, County Attorney, on various matters.


The board recessed at noon for lunch and then performed a fence viewing request in Logan Township, Section 24, at the request of Greg Koppes.  The board will render an opinion. 


Meeting then adjourned.


About Kevin Rippe

Kevin Rippe was born in Marysville and moved to Smith Center at the age of 1, then graduated from Smith Center High School in 1995. He graduated from Cloud County Community College in 1997, and joined the staff of KKAN/KQMA radio in Phillipsburg a year later. Since June of 2011 Kevin has been with us here at Your Country KNDY. You can hear Kevin on daily news reports, as well as calling area high school football and basketball. Kevin lives in Marysville with his wife Melissa, and 4 children Brennen, Jacob, Bailee, and Joshua.