Marysville, KansasLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.
Home | KNDY News | Only Two Counties Not Declared Disaster Areas

Only Two Counties Not Declared Disaster Areas

Washington and Marshall County are the only two counties in the state that have not been declared disaster areas by the Governor.  Both counties have received rain in the last six weeks, but according to farmers the rain was not wide spread. 


Gene Ottens, a farmer visiting from Illinois said it that Marshall County had a lot more green than most of the area they travelled.  Ottens drove from Illinois through Iowa on Interstate 80 then down Interstate 35 to Highway 36.  He said grass and crops were mostly dried up the entire trip.  He said the roadsides still had areas of green as they approached Marysville.  However, he commented that crops on one side of the road would look okay and on the other side would be heavily damaged.


Patty Holle, who farms with her husband Keith, said some fields were still okay while others were probably finished.  Holle said it just depended where the field was because the rains only hit certain areas.  This week’s forecast shows a slight chance of rain during the week and temperatures falling into the 90’s.

About Jeff Ottens