Marysville, KansasLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.
Home | KNDY News | Washington County Commission Meeting Minutes

Washington County Commission Meeting Minutes

           COMMISSION MINUTES, June 18, 2012         


The Board of Washington County Commission met in regular session on Monday, June 18, 2012 in the commission room at the Washington County Courthouse.  Present: Roger Otott, Vice Chairman, 2nd District Commissioner; Gene Helms, 3rd District Commissioner; Elizabeth Hiltgen, County Attorney, and Lou Kern, County Clerk.   Absent:  Alison Mueller, 1st District Commissioner.


Vice Chairman Otott called the meeting to order.


The next regular meeting is Monday, June 25, 2012 at 8:30 A.M. 


Don Alldredge, custodian, was given permission to come in to work early to work on floors.


Ann Hawk, County Treasurer and Debbie Swoboda, Emergency Management Coordinator, submitted 2013 budget requests.


Arlene Dague and Arlene Hiesterman discussed 2013 budget request for the Washington County Historical Museum.  The jail museum needs to be tuck pointed and a 80/20 grant may be available through the Kansas State Historical Society.  The 20% match for the grant must be in the museum account before the grant can be submitted.  The board did not make a decision.


Gene Helms moved and Roger Otott seconded to appoint B.J. Smart to a term on the North East Kansas Area on Aging Agency and thanked Glenda Keller for her previous service on the board.  Motion carried.  Becky Pannbacker, Washington County Senior Citizens, Inc. Director, discussed 2013 budget request.


The board approved and signed change order nos.  2011-79 through 2011-82.


Duane Bruna, Noxious Weed and Solid Waste Director, reported that letters have been sent to various landowners for musk thistle control issues.  The bid opening for haying at the transfer station is to be opened next Monday at 9:30 A.M.  All bids are to be filed with the County Clerk’s office prior to that time.  Duane presented budget requests for Solid Waste, Noxious Weed and Vegetation Management.


Sheriff Bill Dickson and Undersheriff Wes Weber discussed 2013 budget requests for Sheriff and Jail departments.  The jail currently houses 15 Sedgwick County inmates; 2 from Washington County; 1 from Marshall County and 1 inmate from Cloud County.


The board received an application for cereal malt beverage special event license from Washington Chamber of Commerce on July 20 and 21 during the Washington County Fair and gave notice to the Washington County Township Clerk.


David Willbrant, Public Works Director, gave weekly work report; a CDBG survey update and discussed bridge project 22-N.3.  David presented draft of an updated snow removal policy for his department. 


The board recessed at noon for lunch and reconvened at 1:00 P.M.


The board spoke with Elizabeth Hiltgen, County Attorney, and the meeting adjourned at 1:40 P.M.

About Jeff Ottens