Marysville, KansasLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.
Home | KNDY News | Washington Co. Commissioners Minutes 6-25-12

Washington Co. Commissioners Minutes 6-25-12

The Board of Washington County Commission met in regular session on Monday, June 25, 2012in the commission room at the Washington County Courthouse.  Present: Alison Mueller, 1st District Commissioner, Chairman;

Roger Otott, Vice Chairman, 2nd District Commissioner; Gene Helms, 3rd District Commissioner; Elizabeth Hiltgen, County Attorney, and Lou Kern, County Clerk.   


Chairman Mueller called the meeting to order.


The next regular meeting isMonday, July 2, 2012at8:30 A.M.


County offices will be closed on Wednesday, July 4 for the holiday.


The board approved and paid bills and payroll totaling $340,399.92.


The board approved and signed change order nos. 2011-83 through 2011-86.


Duane Bruna, Noxious Weed and Solid Waste Director, was presented when the one bid for haying at the transfer station was opened.  Gene Helms moved and Roger Otott seconded to award the bid to Curtis Stamm for $81.00.  Motion carried.


Undersheriff Wes Weber reported that the current jail census is 12SedgwickCountyinmates; 1WashingtonCountyinmate and 1MarshallCountyinmate.  TwoWashingtonCountyfemales are being jailed inMarshallCounty


Dave Kettlehut asked for a culvert for a field entrance between Sections 28 and 29 inHighlandTownship.  David Willbrant, Public Works Administrator, was present to receive the information.  David Willbrant gave weekly work report.  CDBG surveys that have not been returned are being re-distributed in the hope that the targeted land owners will respond. North Central Kansas Regional Planning Commission will begin tabulating results for preparation of a bridge grant application.  Stamm Masonry is to give a written quote for doors at the county shop.  Roger Otott moved to adopt the snow policy previously submitted and to adopt the amended job descriptions as submitted.  Gene Helms seconded and motion carried.


The board recessed atnoonfor lunch and reconvened at1:00 P.M.


At 1:05 P.M. Gene Helms moved to go into executive session with Dr. Roger Baskerville and Elizabeth Hiltgen,CountyAttorney, for 45 minutes to discuss non elected personnel.  Roger Otott seconded and motion carried.  At1:50 P.M.the board returned to regular session.  No action was taken.


At1:55 P.M.  Roger Otott moved to go into executive session for 15 minutes with Duane Bruna, Noxious Weed and Solid Waste Director, and Elizabeth Hiltgen,CountyAttorney, under the attorney/client privilege.  At2:10 P.M.the board returned to regular session.  No action was taken.


The meeting adjourned at2:15 P.M.


About Kevin Rippe

Kevin Rippe was born in Marysville and moved to Smith Center at the age of 1, then graduated from Smith Center High School in 1995. He graduated from Cloud County Community College in 1997, and joined the staff of KKAN/KQMA radio in Phillipsburg a year later. Since June of 2011 Kevin has been with us here at Your Country KNDY. You can hear Kevin on daily news reports, as well as calling area high school football and basketball. Kevin lives in Marysville with his wife Melissa, and 4 children Brennen, Jacob, Bailee, and Joshua.