Marysville, KansasLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.
Home | KNDY News | Washington County Commission Minutes

Washington County Commission Minutes

COMMISSION MINUTES, May 29, 2012         


The Board of Washington County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 in the commission room at the Washington County Courthouse.  Present: Alison Mueller, 1st District Commissioner, Chairman; Roger Otott, 2nd District Commissioner; Gene Helms, 3rd District Commissioner, Elizabeth Hiltgen, County Attorney, and Lou Kern, County Clerk.   


Chairman Mueller called the meeting to order.


The next regular meeting is Monday, June 4, 2012 at 8:30 A.M. 


The board approved payroll and bills totaling $297,153.18.


The board approved and Chairman Mueller signed payroll change notice for Raechell O’Donnell, jailer, due to discharge effective May 22, 2012.


The board approved and signed official minutes from March 12 through May 21, 2012.


The board approved and Chairman Mueller signed RARP refunds totaling $17,494.24; NRP refunds, 10th year,  totaling $2693.61 and NRP refunds, 9th year, totaling $4,143.67.


Don Alldredge, custodian, reported on routine maintenance matters.


Duane Bruna, Noxious Weed and Solid Waste Director, reported that B & W Electric, Hanover, has installed the furnace/air conditioner at the office and is working on installation of the water heater.  A demonstration of the hyrdo seeder has proved to do a great job.  Duane said that he will build a shelter to house the machine.


Elizabeth Hiltgen, County Attorney, has received a check from Keystone Pipeline for payment of unfinished items due to pipeline construction.  The commission approved release of the bond that was signed by Chairman Mueller.  The commission asked her to look into establishment of a franchise fee for oil and gas lines coming through the county.


Sheriff Bill Dickson and Undersheriff Wes Web reported that the jail currently is housing 12 Sedgwick County inmates; 4 Washington County inmates, and 1 Marshall County inmate.


David Willbrant, Public Works Administrator, gave weekly work report.  Gene Helms moved and Roger Otott seconded to accept the low quote of Farmway Coop for the purchase of #2 Clear LS diesel for $24,217.50.  Motion carried.  The board approved and Chairman Mueller signed payroll change notice for Joe Rundle as seasonal laborer effective May 29, 2012.  Gene Helms moved to sign a hangar lease agreement with Roth Ag Air for 2012.  Roger Otott seconded and motion carried.  Public Works crews will be sealing the on the north of Greenleaf oil and will double seal on the Clifton Oil.  David would like to try oil containing recycled rubber.  David was given permission to purchase a load of used 24 inch pipeline pipe from a salvage company at $20.00 per foot.


At 11:00 A.M.  Chairman Mueller opened the floor for comments on the proposal to vacate a road in Section 4, Township 4, Range 4 East, Greenleaf Township.  Appearing were Jim Mueller, Greenleaf Township Treasurer and Robert Kohlmeyer, landowner.  After discussion Gene Helms moved to adopt Resolution 04-12 vacating a road described as:  Beginning at the north line of the southeast quarter of Section 4, T4S, R4E and 75 feet east of the Washington Branch of the CBUPRR.  Thence north 35 degrees west parallel with and 75 feet from the center of said railroad track, said description of road described in Report of Survey by Orlando Sawyer on June 7, 1884.  Roger Otott seconded and motion carried. 


The meeting adjourned at noon.

About Jeff Ottens