Marysville, KansasLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.
Home | KNDY News | Washington County Board Meeting Minutes

Washington County Board Meeting Minutes

           COMMISSION MINUTES, March 5, 2012         


The Board of Washington County Commission met in regular session on Monday, March 5, 2012 in the commission room at the Washington County Courthouse.  Present: Alison Mueller, 1st District Commissioner, Chairman; Roger Otott, 2nd District Commissioner; Gene Helms, 3rd District Commissioner; Elizabeth Hiltgen, County Attorney and Lou Kern, County Clerk.   


Chairman Mueller called the meeting to order.


The next regular meeting is Monday, March 12, 2012 at 8:30 A.M.


The board approved bills and payroll totaling $203,316.74.


Gene Helms reported on a meeting that he attended on Friday with Linn representatives at the Kansas Department of Transportation office.  KDOT has agreed to lower the speed limit to 55 mph around the curve and to place temporary flashing speed warnings.


Ann Hawk, County Treasurer, introduced Ruth Ann Zenger as the new hire in her office.  The board approved and signed payroll change notice effective March 5, 2012.


Rob Peschel, LLS, CES Group P.A. extended an invitation to the board to the Kansas Association of County Surveyors  annual meeting in Salina on March 9.


At 9:20 A.M. Gene Helms moved to go into executive session with Don Alldredge, custodian, for 15 minutes to discuss non elected personnel.  Roger Otott seconded and motion carried.  At 9:35 A.M. the board returned to regular sess ion.  No action was taken.


Duane Bruna, Noxious Weed and Solid Waste Director, presented prices for insulating the shop at the transfer station.  Roger Otott moved and Gene Helms seconded to accept the quote of Mark Critchfield, Waterville for $3,384.00.  Motion carried.  Duane reported that KDHE inspected the facility last week.


David Willbrant, Public Works Administrator, gave weekly work report and monthly budget report and presented inventory for his department.  The board approved the low quote of Kramer Oil for the purchase of 2000 gallons of unleaded gasoline and 5500 gallons of 50/50 for $26,483.50.  Casey Frasier, Foley Equipment Co. and Mike Curry, Branch Manager, Murphy Tractor & Equipment Co.  were present as David recommended purchase of two new motor graders and one used John Deere motor grader from Murphy Tractor & Equipment Co.  Each salesman tendered an offer to purchase the 850 Dresser motor grader owned by the county.  Gene Helms moved to purchase the used 772 GP John Deere motor grader for $183,000.00 from Murphy Tractor & Equipment Co. and to purchase two 12M Caterpillar motor graders from Foley Equipment Co. for $212,570.00 with a trade in allowance for 140G CAT for a purchase price of $171,920.00 and another 12M CAT motor grader $212,570.00 with a trade in allowance for a 850 Dresser motor grader for a purchase price of $189,570.00.  Roger Otott seconded and motion carried.  David recommended the purchase of an auger for the skid steer from Oregon Trail.  Roger Otott moved to purchase the auger from Oregon Trail for $2,940.00.  Gene Helms seconded and motion carried.  After discussion and further review of the bids submitted Roger Otott moved to rescind the previous motion.  Gene Helms seconded and motion carried.  Roger Otott moved to accept the low bid of CTI, Concordia, for $2,910.50.  Gene Helms seconded and motion carried.  The board approved the transfer of 40 hours earned time from L. Joe Meier to Tim Duis.  David was given permission to advertise for 3-4 summer help positions.  Repair issues with two trucks were discussed.  Lyle Hennerberg called in to report signs missing at 25th and Thunder Roads and the River bridge.  David reviewed Summary of Engineers Annual Report with the board.  All public works employees attended a MUTCD meeting last week at First National Bank.  Norfolk Contracting was pouring a bridge in Charleston Township and is progressing on the bridge in Brantford Township.   


The board recessed at noon and reconvened at 1:00 P.M.


The board met with Elizabeth Hiltgen, County Attorney.


Sheriff Bill Dickson reported that the jail currently is housing 13 Sedgwick County prisoners; 4 Washington County prisoners and 1 Marshall County prisoner.  The commission; Sheriff Dickson; Undersheriff Wes Weber; Iola Wolfe, Corrections Sergeant; Dan Baker, Jailer; Sheila Ouellette, Communications Director, and Theresa Herrs, Deputy Communications Director, viewed a demonstration of software from Tim Goodpasture, Public Safety Software.


The meeting adjourned at 3:30 P.M.




















About Jeff Ottens