Marysville, KansasLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.
Home | KNDY News | Washington COMMISSION MINUTES, January 9, 2012

Washington COMMISSION MINUTES, January 9, 2012



The Board of Washington County Commission met in regular session on Monday, January 9, 2012 in the commission room at the Washington County Courthouse.  Present: Alison Mueller, 1st District Commissioner; Roger Otott, 2nd District Commissioner, Chairman; Gene Helms, 3rd District Commissioner, and Lou Kern, County Clerk.   Absent: Elizabeth Hiltgen, County Attorney, who is on maternity leave.


Chairman Otott called the meeting to order.


County offices will be closed on Monday, January 16, 2012 for Martin Luther King birthday.

The next regular meeting is Tuesday, January 17, 2012 at 8:30 A.M.  


The board approved bills and payroll totaling $540,017.87.


The board signed official minutes from November 7, 2011 through January 3, 2012.


Justin Dragastin, Kastl-Powell Insurance Agency agent, presented insurance premium renewals for 2012.  The board had received a quote from KWORC for the workman compensation portion of the county insurance.  After discussion Gene Helms moved to accept the insurance renewal as presented by Kastl Powell Insurance to include the workman compensation policy for 2012.  Alison Mueller seconded and motion carried.


The board approved and signed RARP (Restated and Amended Revitalization Plan) refunds in the amount of $27,439.38 and Neighborhood Revitalization Plan refunds in the amount of $28,445.08.


 Lisa Davies, Rural Lakes Region Administrator, introduced Donnie Wolfe as new sanitarian who will be serving Washington County.


Duane Bruna, Noxious Weed and Solid Waste Director, presented payroll change notice for Joshua Venable as new laborer effective January 9, 2012.  Duane presented inventory for his department.  Alison Mueller moved to sign one year permit for Durflinger Disposal Service, Inc.  Gene Helms seconded and motion carried.


David Willbrant, Public Works Administrator, gave weekly work report.  Alison Mueller moved to sign an utility right of way agreement with Trenton Winter for a site on 5th Road.  Gene Helms seconded and motion carried.  Throop Road damage costs due to liquid manure spillage were discussed.  Airport issues were also discussed.


Christy L’Ecuyer, Business Coordinator, presented inventory.  The board will establish contact information for business inquiries after today.  The board thanked Christy for all her efforts from June, 2006 until today.


At 11:00 A.M. the board began yearly reorganization.  Gene Helms moved and Roger Otott seconded to appoint Alison Mueller as Chairman of the Board for 2012.  Motion carried.  Gene Helms moved and Alison Mueller moved to appoint Roger Otott as Vice Chairman of the Board for 2012.  Motion carried.  Gene Helms moved and Roger Otott seconded to adopt the following:


1st National Bank, depository for Register of Deeds

County Treasurer to use all banks


Blue Cross & Blue Shield rates – as per contract


Federal rate:  52.5 cents           State rate: 51 cents – County: currently 48 cents  – 2012: 50 cents per mile

Meal per diem – Employees shall be responsible for their own meal for one day seminars.  Upon submission of meal expense, compensation will be reimbursed to employee through payroll

            $30.00 a day for 3 consecutive meals including tips for trips that involve      overnight travel

Overage of meal allowance will result in payroll deductions


Boot allowance:  $90.00 once a year to be compensated through employee payroll


Wage adjustments–  40 cents per hour COLA


Cleaning rate for Sheriff, Undersheriff, Deputies – $10.00 per month


Official County Paper              Hanover News – 2012

Holidays for 2012                   January 2, 2012, New Year’s Day

                                                January 16, 2012, Martin Luther King Day

                                                February 20, 2012, President’s Day

                                                April 6, 2012, Good Friday

                                                May 28, 2012, Memorial Day

                                                July 4, 2012, Independence Day

                                                September 3, 2012, Labor Day

                                                November 12, 2012, Veterans Day                                        

                                                November 22 and 23, 2012, Thanksgiving

                                                December 24, 2012, Christmas Eve

                                                December 25, 2012, Christmas            Day                             

January 1, 2013, New Year’s Day


Appointments –

            County Health Administrator – Janice Kearn, R.N.

            Consultant to the County Health Administrator – David K. Hodgson, M.D.

            Business Coordinator – vacant

            Noxious Weed & Solid Waste Director – Duane Bruna     

            Emergency Management Coordinator – Debbie Swoboda

            Emergency Management Alternate Coordinator – Alison Mueller

            Public Works Administrator – David Willbrant

            Communications Director – Sheila Ouellette

Airport Advisory Board – 2 members, 3 yr term

                        Dean Lovgren & Richard Hinkle                                                                                                        

Pawnee Mental Health – 1 member, 3 yr term – Mary Tate, Linn


Washington County Hospital Board – 2 members, 4 yr term – Jody Ouellette and Rebecca Holsch

Washington County Communications Board – 1 member, 4 yr terms – not active

North Central Regional Planning Commission representative – Roger Otott       


North Central Regional Juvenile Detention

            Delegate – Gene Helms

            Alternate – Alison Mueller


Heartland Works

            Representative – Lou Kern


Rural Lakes Region representative – Alison Mueller


Sheriff Bill Dickson reported that the jail currently has 22 prisoners.  Fourteen prisioners from Sedgwick County; 7 Washington County prisoners and one from Marshall County on work release are being held.


 Meeting adjourned at noon.














































                                                                                    BOARD OF WASHINGTON COUNTY




                                                                                    Roger Otott, Chairman



_____________________________                          Alison Mueller, Member

Louella Kern, County Clerk    


                                                                                    Gene Helms, Member                                                                                                 



About Jeff Ottens