Home | KNDY Sports | Time Changes for Diamond Head Classic Games Featuring K-State

Time Changes for Diamond Head Classic Games Featuring K-State

Information Courtesy of K-State Sports Information at www.kstatesports.com. Games will air on KNDY AM 1570/FM 94.1. 

MANHATTAN, Kan. –The Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic has altered game times for Kansas State’s first two contests of the tournament, which is set for Dec. 22-25 at the Stan Sheriff Center in Honolulu.

The Wildcats will take on Southern Illinois (1-5) in the first round of the Classic at 3:30 p.m. CST (11:30 a.m. HST) on Thursday, Dec. 22 on ESPNU. The winner would advance to face either Clemson (4-4) or Texas-El Paso (2-4) at 4 p.m. CST (noon HST) on Friday, Dec. 23 on ESPNU, while the two remaining teams will play at 2 p.m. CST (10 a.m. HST), also on ESPNU.

In the opposite bracket, reigning Big West champion Long Beach State (4-5) will play No. 8 Xavier (8-0) at 10 p.m. CST (6 p.m. HST) on ESPNU in the third game before the final first-round match-up on Thursday between SEC foe Auburn (4-1) and host Hawaii (3-4) at midnight CST (8 p.m. HST) on ESPNU.

The winner of each bracket will face off in the championship game on Sunday, Dec. 25 at 8:30 p.m. CST (4:30 p.m. HST) on ESPN2. There will be three consolation games that will precede the title contest at 1 p.m. CST (9 a.m. HST; seventh-place game), 3:30 p.m. CST (11:30 a.m. HST; fifth-place game, ESPNU) and 6:30 p.m. CST (2:30 p.m. HST; third-place game, ESPN2), respectively.

The three-day, three-game tournament includes six postseason participants from a year ago, including Clemson (NCAA Tournament), Hawai’i (CIT), Long Beach State (NIT), Texas-El Paso (NIT) and Xavier (NCAA).

This will mark the Wildcats’ fourth in-season trip to Hawaii, which includes participation in the 1985 and 1998 Maui Invitationals and a 1993 trip to the University of Hawaii. The team is 3-3 all-time on the island.

The Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television, Inc., (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN. ESPN Regional Television markets and/or owns several college basketball events, including the 76 Classic, Charleston Classic, DIRECTV SEC/BIG EAST Invitational, Puerto Rico Tip-Off, Lane Furniture All-College Basketball Classic and BracketBusters.

About Derek Nester

Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids, and graduated from Valley Heights High School in May of 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communication. After stops at KFRM and KCLY radio in Clay Center, he joined KNDY in 2002 as a board operator and play by play announcer. Derek is now responsible for the digital content of Dierking Communications, Inc. 6 radio stations. In 2005 Derek joined the staff of KCFX radio in Kansas City as a production assistant for the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, which airs on 69 radio stations across 9 Midwest states.