Marysville, KansasLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.
Home | KNDY Sports | 26th Volleyball All-Star Match Held At Washburn University

26th Volleyball All-Star Match Held At Washburn University

The Kansas Volleyball Association held its 26th annual All Star Match on June 3 at Washburn University in Topeka.

The Red Team defeated the Blue Team in five games by the scores of 25-20, 18-25, 17-25, 25-23, and 15-12. Leading the Red Team in kills was Morgan Voorhes of St. James Academy with 11. Korie Thompson of Atchison County Community High School also added 9 kills. Alexis Dutt of Abilene High School led the Red Team in assists with 16, while Hayley Young from Douglass High School contributed 11 assists. The Red Team was led by Jordyn Holle of Manattan High School with 19 digs and Molly O’Hagan of Tonganoxie High School chipped in with 17 digs. Valerie Hecht of Bern High School led the Red Team in blocks with 5 total blocks. Emporia High School’s Lauren Longbine added 2 aces.

The Blue Team was led by Molly O’Brien of St. James Academy with 13 kills. Marissa Cox of Central Heights High School contributed 7 kills. Kelly Scannell from Shawnee Heights High School led the Blue Team in assists with 26. Marissa Cox of Central Heights High School added 19 assists. The Blue Team was led in digs by Sara Slater of Lansing High School with 20 and Kelly Scannell of Shawnwee Heights High School added 12. Sydney Crimmins of Clay Center led in blocks with 5 total blocks while Kylee Pywell of Plainville contributed with 2 aces.

The K.V.A. also presented four of its annual awards at the conclusion of the match. Marissa Cox of Central Heights High School received the Joan Lundstrom Wells Award of Excellence. The Flo Hyman Scholarship was awarded to Emily Conklin of Washburn Rural High School. Morgan Voorhes of St. James Academy received the Judy Bellomo Most Inspirational Award. The Don Bechard Scholarship was awarded to Alexis Dutt of Abilene High School.

About Derek Nester

Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids, and graduated from Valley Heights High School in May of 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communication. After stops at KFRM and KCLY radio in Clay Center, he joined KNDY in 2002 as a board operator and play by play announcer. Derek is now responsible for the digital content of Dierking Communications, Inc. six radio stations. In 2005 Derek joined the staff of KCFX radio in Kansas City as a production coordinator for the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, which airs on over 70 radio stations across 12 Midwest states and growing.