Marysville, KansasLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.
Home | KNDY News | Washington County Commissioners’ Board Meeting Minutes

Washington County Commissioners’ Board Meeting Minutes

The Board of Washington County Commission met in regular session on Monday, April 11, 2011 in the commission room at the Washington County Courthouse. Present: Alison Mueller, 1st District Commissioner; Roger Otott, 2nd District Commissioner, Chairman; Gene Helms, 3rd District Commissioner; Elizabeth Hiltgen, County Attorney and Lou Kern, County Clerk.

Chairman Otott called the meeting to order.

Next regular meeting is Monday, April 18, 2011 at 8:30 A.M.

The commission began their morning as the Board of County Canvassers to review election results from the April 5 election. Susan Bechard, Clifton, attended the canvass. The Board of County Canvassers processed the provisional ballots as presented by the Clerk’s office. Three offices resulted in tied votes: Linn City Council and U.S.D. 108, Position 3 and U.S.D. 224, Position 7. The commission chose to flip a coin to determine the winner of U.S.D. 108, Position 3, Kenneth Johnson and to draw names from a hat to determine the winner of the Linn City Council winner, Norm Rippe. After receiving totals from Cloud County the race between Steve Feight and April Fahey was still tied. Later in the afternoon Clay County totals were received and the race was still tied. The Board of County Canvassers flipped a coin and declared Steve Feight the winner. Upon receiving vote totals from Clay County for the Vining City Council there is a tie vote between David Clairmont and Jim Wilson that will need to be decided next week. The Board of County Canvassers found no substantial errors to change the election results as presented.

Duane Bruna, Noxious Weed and Solid Waste Director, reported that “Ag Sweep” went well. Free days at the landfill are April 14 and 15 and one half a day on Saturday, April 16. Household trash, hazardous waste and tires will be charged the regular fee. Tordon 22K cannot be sold for usage by the township as a commercial applicator license is required.

David Willbrant, Public Works Administrator, gave weekly work report. The Trinity road was discussed. David is to talk with Hall Brothers about the cost involved to seal asphalt roads. Schwab Eaton Engineering is to put together a proposal for repairs on the Cragle bridge for the commission to review. This is a 50/50 shared responsibility between Marshall and Washington counties.

The meeting recessed at 12:15 P.M. and reconvened at 1:00 P.M.

Sheriff Bill Dickson reported that Todd Ohlde will begin April 14 to install the fence at the jail facility. Currently the jail has 25 Sedgwick County prisoners. Sheriff Dickson will conduct 5 interviews next week to hire two deputies. A March 6 incident was discussed with Sheriff Dickson.

Gene Helms moved and Alison Mueller seconded to give Linn High School After Prom Party $100.00 from alcohol and drug fund. Motion carried.

Christy L’Ecuyer, Business Coordinator, updated the board on the hospital grant progress and other matters.

Janice Kearn, R.N., County Health Director, presented pamphlets for review to the commission serving as the Family Planning Advisory Board. Family Planning has served 103 unduplicated clients in the last year. The grant funding is $4794. Fees may need to be adjusted next year in anticipation of funding cuts. Alison Mueller moved to approve the pamphlets are presented. Gene Helms seconded and motion carried.

Tommy Darnell, Keystone Pipeline representative, called to see if the commission had signed the release for Keystone damages. The commission spoke with Elizabeth Hiltgen, County Attorney, regarding wording in the release. The commission then called Mr. Darnell and scheduled a meeting for next Monday at 11:00 A.M.

At 3:00 P.M. the commission met with members of the solid waste advisory meeting. Present were Kathy Ouellette; Harry Jones, Washington City Mayor; Jim Jones, Jones Trash Service; Ken Stettnisch, Barnes City Council member. After discussion, Kathy Ouellette moved to increase the minimum gate fee from $3.00 to $5.00 effective January 1, 2012. Call for vote: Harry Jones and Alison Mueller, no and the remainder of members, yes. The board then discussed fees for out of county trash and construction and demolition material. After discussion Kathy Ouellette moved to increase the fee for out of county trash and construction and demolition material by $2.00 per ton. Gene Helms seconded and motion carried. Alison Mueller moved to adjourn the meeting and Kathy Ouellette seconded. Motion carried.

The board adjourned at 4:30 P.M.

About Jeff Ottens