Marysville, KansasLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.
Home | KNDY News | Marysville City Council Seats New Members

Marysville City Council Seats New Members

The New Marysville City Council was sworn in at Monday night’s meeting. Newly elected Mayor Bill Phillipi and City Council members Tim Ackerman, Wayne Price, Sean Cohorst and Todd Frye were joined by Melvin “Bud” Schuette, who was unanimously approved to fill the Ward 1 seat vacated by Phillipi.

The Seventh Street corridor project will be on the agenda for the Marysville City Council Meeting April 25th. The project has become the focus of debate after several downtown business owners expressed their concern with the design of the project and the potential loss of parking. After a special meeting the plans were changed to provide more parking and a walkway through the middle of the former railbed. Some business owners have indicated they would prefer to have the former railbed simply covered with concrete or chip seal.

Marysville was awarded a Kansas Department of Transportation grant for up to 300,000 dollars toward the project. The conditions of the grant include Marysville paying for 20% of the project and the project must include specific use for pedestrians.

Mayor Bill Phillipi hopes the council will make an up or down vote on the project during the April 25th meeting.

About Jeff Ottens