Home | KNDY News | Governor’s Achievement Awards Recipients for 2009-2010

Governor’s Achievement Awards Recipients for 2009-2010

The Kansas State Department of Education has released the list of 67-schools in Kansas that have been awarded the Governor’s Achievement Award for the 2009-2010 school year.

We learned earlier this month at the Waconda USD 272 School Board meeting that four of the schools in the district had met award qualifications – Lakeside Intermediate School, Tipton Community School, Lakeside Junior High School, and Lakeside High School.

It is the 5th-consecutive year the Waconda District has earned Governor’s Achievement Awards.

In our immediate area, the other schools on the Governor’s Achievement Award list for the previous school year include: Tipton High School and Wilson Junior/Senior High School.

The other award winners in our part of the state – Claflin Elementary School, Phillipsburg Elementary School, Hanover High School, Claflin Junior/Senior High School and Victoria High School.

The Governor’s Award is given based on performance on state reading and math assessments given annually.

About Mike Schrant

Mike is one of those guys who has spent nearly a lifetime trying to figure out what he wants to do when he grows up. He has split time as a broadcaster and educator having first worked in radio in the early 1970’s while attending junior college. The two careers are directly connected because many of the 25 years as an educator were spent teaching broadcast journalism at the high school and college levels. Mike is married and has three adult children (no grandchildren yet) and enjoys sports, debating politics, gardening, landscaping-hauling rocks, and swapping stories with the "good old boys".