Home | KNDY News | Area Election Preview from KNDY News

Area Election Preview from KNDY News

Voters Tuesday will choose national, state, and local candidates.  Polls for the general election will be open 7 am to 7 pm.

A one cent sales tax increase for the city of Marysville that would fund a proposed new swimming pool, park and tennis court improvements, and provide for construction of a new fire station will be on the ballot.  The increase would bring the city sales tax to 8.3 percent.  First district voters, including the city of Marysville will choose a county commissioner, with Bob Connell challenging incumbent Mick Keating.

Washington County has no contested local races.

In Nemaha County, USD 441 B&B, and USD 442 Nemaha Valley will address the issue of a proposed consolidation of the two school districts.  A contested race for the 62nd District Kansas House seat that was held by Bruce Larkin has Steve Luckert facing Randy Garber.  Both are from Sabetha.  The district also includes Brown County.

In Gage County, contested races include Diller-Odell schools, ward 1, with Toni Landenberger, Dean Englemen, Chad Lottman and Angie Clifford filed for three seats.  Lewiston patrons will choose three candidates, with Larry Husa, Jeff Bacon, Terry Howell, Scott Garman, and Robyn Mencl-arena on the ballot.  Southern school district voters will also pick three candidates from Doug Argo, Terry Milligan, Dave Creevan, Michelle Schieber, Lisa Munsterman, and Bobbie Hroch on the ballot.

In other contested races, Lonnie Meyer will face Cathy Rakes for Blue Springs mayor, Scott Thomas will face Gene Rader Reedy for Blue Springs council, Dan Hawkins faces Dan Guenther for Wymore Mayor, and Dave Monfeldt faces John Laflin for Wymore City Council.

About Bruce Dierking