Marysville, KansasLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.
Home | KNDY News | Kansas Farmers Can Grow Their Communities One Donation at a Time

Kansas Farmers Can Grow Their Communities One Donation at a Time

I am writing you on behalf of Monsanto Fund and wanted to share a great opportunity for your state with you.  Below you will find information on the Monsanto Fund’s America’s Farmers Grow CommunitiesSM program, which wants to donate $2,500 to 81 counties in Kansas, which adds up to $202,500 to the state in February 2011.  We would love it if you would help spread the word to local famers for us through a newsletter, word of mouth, social media or any other way.  A newsletter article is included below my signature for your use.  Feel free to contact me with any questions.

Kansas Farmers Can Grow Their Communities One Donation at a Time

Rural communities are important to farmers. They give farmers a place to call home, a place to meet with friends for breakfast, a place to raise families. Now, Kansas farmers in 81 counties have the opportunity to win $2,500 awards for their favorite nonprofit organization.  The awards are available through Monsanto Fund’s America’s Farmers Grow CommunitiesSM program. The program’s first two pilots provided nearly 500 farmers in 10 states with $2,500 awards to direct to their favorite nonprofit. That totals nearly $1.2 million invested since the first pilot program began in January. The program has now expanded to 1,201 counties across 38 states.

The America’s Farmers Grow Communities program is intended to benefit non-profit community groups such as ag youth organizations, schools and other civic groups important to America’s farmers. Farmers can apply online at, or they can call 1.877.267.3332 to apply by phone.

Farmers, age 21 and over, who are actively engaged in farming a minimum of 250 acres of corn, soybeans and/or cotton, or 40 acres of open field vegetables, or at least 10 acres of tomatoes, peppers and/or cucumbers grown in protected culture are eligible.  Applications are available now, and farmers can continue to enter through Dec. 31, 2010.  The program is open to all qualifying farmers, and no purchase is necessary in order to enter or win.  One winner will be drawn from each of the 1,201 participating counties, and Monsanto Fund will announce winning farmers and recipient organizations by February 2011.
Eligible counties in Kansas include:  Allen, Anderson, Atchison, Barton, Bourbon, Brown, Butler, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Cowley, Crawford, Decatur, Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Edwards, Finney, Ford, Franklin, Gove, Graham, Grant, Gray, Greeley, Greenwood, Harvey, Haskell, Jackson, Jefferson, Jewell, Johnson, Kearny, Kiowa, Labette, Leavenworth, Linn, Logan, Lyon, Marshall, Marion, McPherson, Meade, Miami, Mitchell, Montgomery, Morris, Nemaha, Neosho, Norton, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Phillips, Pratt, Pottawatomie, Rawlins, Republic, Reno, Rice, Riley, Saline, Scott, Sedgwick, Seward, Shawnee, Sheridan, Sherman, Smith, Stafford, Stanton, Stevens, Sumner, Thomas, Wabaunsee, Wallace, Washington, Wichita and Wilson.

About Jeff Ottens