Marysville, KansasLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.
Home | KNDY News | Apply now for state’s grain commodity commissions

Apply now for state’s grain commodity commissions

Grain growers in central Kansas who plan to campaign for a seat on one of the  state’s five grain commodity commissions—corn, grain sorghum, soybeans, wheat or sunflowers—should be gathering petition signatures now to meet the Nov. 30, 2010, filing deadline.

The 2011 election will cover districts four, five and six, or the central third of Kansas.
 District four includes Clay, Cloud, Jewell, Mitchell, Osborne, Ottawa, Phillips, Republic, Rooks, Smith and Washington counties. 

To be eligible to run for any of the five commodity commissions, the candidate must have been actively engaged in growing corn, grain sorghum, soybeans, wheat or sunflowers within the preceding five years.

Candidates must gather 20 signatures from eligible voters to be included on the 2011 ballot.   No more than five signatures from any one county can be used to qualify a candidate.  Eligible voters are Kansas residents who will reach age 18 before the election and who have grown corn, grain sorghum, soybeans, sunflowers or wheat for the last three years. 

Candidate registration packets are available from the Kansas Department of Agriculture or the grain commodity commissions. 

More information is available from the Kansas Corn Commission at (785) 448-2626 or; the Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission at (785) 341-6433 or; the Kansas Soybean Commission at (785) 271-1030 or;  the Kansas Sunflower Commission at (785)-565-3908 or; the Kansas Wheat Commission at (785) 539-0255 or; or, the Kansas Department of Agriculture at (785) 296-3556 or

About Jeff Ottens