Marysville, KansasLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.
Home | KNDY News | Transition school board has first meeting

Transition school board has first meeting

The new transition school board for the consolidating Axtell-Bern-Summerfield and Sabetha-Wetmore school district discussed the naming of the new district in a special meeting Tuesday evening in Sabetha.
The transition board consists of four members from the Sabetha school district and three members from the Axtell school district. Roger Brockhoff was elected as interim board president and Brent Lortscher as vice-president. The board approved hiring Stones as superintendent of the new school district and approved hiring certified staff as presented.  Stones said by law the new district will be named Unified School District #113 Nemaha County, Kansas and may also be designated by a name.  Following discussion, the board directed each principal to appoint one site council member to develop 3-5 ideas for consideration in July. The interim board will hold their next meeting Monday evening at 5:30 in the board of education office in Sabetha.

About Jeff Ottens