Home | KNDY News | No More Warnings For Not Wearing A Seatbelt in Kansas

No More Warnings For Not Wearing A Seatbelt in Kansas

TOPEKA – Beginning June 30, 2010, citations for non-seat-belt use will be issued, ending the warning period for the new primary seat belt law, which went into effect June 10.

Law enforcement officers in Kansas will now be able to stop and ticket drivers and front-seat passengers who are not wearing safety belts even if the officers do not observe another traffic violation. The new law also makes it a secondary violation for adults in the back seat, which means they may be fined only if another citation is issued. This does not affect the existing law for anyone under 18; it is still a primary offense if they are unrestrained anywhere in the vehicle.

When worn correctly, safety belts have proven to reduce the risk of fatal injury to front-seat passenger car occupants by 45 percent – and by 60 percent in pickup trucks, SUVs and minivans. That research becomes significant when coupled with KDOT statistics showing that only 30 percent of people killed in motor vehicle crashes in 2008 were buckled in at the time of the crash. Currently, Kansas’ safety belt use rate is 77 percent, which is one of the lowest in the nation (43rd out of 50 states) and well below the national average of 84 percent.

About Derek Nester

Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids, and graduated from Valley Heights High School in May of 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communication. After stops at KFRM and KCLY radio in Clay Center, he joined KNDY in 2002 as a board operator and play by play announcer. Derek is now responsible for the digital content of Dierking Communications, Inc. 6 radio stations. In 2005 Derek joined the staff of KCFX radio in Kansas City as a production assistant for the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, which airs on 69 radio stations across 9 Midwest states.