Home | KNDY News | New Kansas Seat Belt Law

New Kansas Seat Belt Law

Starting June 30th, if you are stopped in Kansas for not wearing a safety restraint in the front seat of a vehicle – a new law allows officers to ticket you.
What you may not know is that officers as of last Thursday, June 9th, can now stop you as a part of the primary seat belt law and issue you a warning.
Beloit Police Officer Shaffer Fraley says the 3-week grace period is an opportunity to condition motorists to the new law.6-14-10 Fraley Cut
According to Pete Bodyk of the Kansas Department of Transportation, passengers anywhere in a vehicle must buckle up if they are under the age of 18. The fine the first year when the law goes into effect is $5.00.
Currently, an average of 77% of Kansas drivers buckle up, that’s well below the national average of 84%, one of the lowest in the nation.

About Mike Schrant

Mike is one of those guys who has spent nearly a lifetime trying to figure out what he wants to do when he grows up. He has split time as a broadcaster and educator having first worked in radio in the early 1970’s while attending junior college. The two careers are directly connected because many of the 25 years as an educator were spent teaching broadcast journalism at the high school and college levels. Mike is married and has three adult children (no grandchildren yet) and enjoys sports, debating politics, gardening, landscaping-hauling rocks, and swapping stories with the "good old boys".