Marysville, KansasLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.
Home | KNDY News | Washington County Commissioners Minutes

Washington County Commissioners Minutes

COMMISSION MINUTES, MAY 17, 2010         

The Board of Washington County Commissioners met in regular session on Monday, May 17, 2010 in the commission room at the Washington County Courthouse.  Present:  Alison Mueller, 1st District Commissioner; Roger Otott, 2nd District Commissioner; Gene Helms, 3rd District Commissioner, Chairman, Elizabeth Hiltgen, County Attorney, and Lou Kern, County Clerk. `

Chairman Helms called the meeting to order with prayer.

The next regular meeting will be Monday, May 24, 2010 at 8:30 AM.

The commission will meet with Janice Kearn, R.N., County Health Director, and Jim Prescott, TransCanada/Keystone Pipeline on May 18 at 10:00 A.M.

The board approved and paid bills and payroll totaling $303,512.87.

Ann Hawk, County Treasurer, presented payroll change notice for Heather Gepner, effective May 9, 1910, due to completion of training period.  Ann told the commission that she would exercise her authority under K.S.A. 8-145 that authorizes compensation to the County Treasurer from the County Auto fund for handling license transactions.  Ann projected that the amount due to her is $5,160.90.  The remainder of the County Auto fund will be transferred to County General Fund.  The commission acknowledged that they have no authority over the County Auto Fund. Ann told the commission that employees are not being compensated enough and that elected officials pay should be higher than appointed officials.

Mick Keating, Marshall County Commissioner, called to arrange a meeting to facilitate collaboration among counties regarding public transportation.  The meeting was set for June 8 at 2:00 P.M. at the Kloppenberg Center in Hanover. 

The board approved and Chairman Helms signed payroll change notices for Chris Speakman, effective May 17, 2010, as jailer trainee; Steven E. Woermanbjork, effective June 7, 2010, as jailer/dispatcher trainee, and Alison Villasenor as deputy sheriff effective May 24, 2010.

The board approved and Chairman Helms signed RARP refund for Brad Ohlde.

At 9:00 A.M. bids were opened for the sale of used county computers.  Don Alldredge and Debbie Swoboda were present.  Five bids were received.  Alison Mueller moved to sell the computers as bid without hard drives with the exception of the computer sold to Debbie Swoboda that will retain the hard drive for county purposes and include the monitor and keyboard for $80.00.  Roger Otott seconded and motion carried.

Debbie Swoboda reported that the National Weather Service has ruled the recent storm damage as a result of straight line winds.

Duane Bruna, Noxious Weed and Solid Waste Director, reported that the building is nearing completion and that the recycling trailer has been picked up from Riley County.  Janice Kearn has submitted transfer of earned time to Larry Leck.  The board decided that they would wait until the earned time given by Duane Bruna and Kathie Otney has been used up.

The board approved and Chairman Helms signed emergency vehicle permit for Don Alldredge for emergency response on a 1994 Dodge Dakota.

The board approved and Chairman Helms signed payroll change notice for Donald Alldredge effective May 23, 2010  due to completion of training period.

Lisa Davies, Director, and Gary May, Sanitarian, Rural Lakes Region, asked if the board approved corrections to the by-laws to Rural Lakes Region.  The board saw no problems with the changes.  Lisa presented a Cooperative Agreement with all counties involved in Rural Lakes Region.  Funding was cut 29% last year that was offset by an increase in fees and will be cut again by 15% next year. The agreement requests $3,000.00 rather than $2,000.00 for next year and the board replied that would probably not happen.   Research will be done to see if Washington County might withdraw from the Rural Lakes Region.

At 10:30 A.M. the board met with various department heads.  Sheriff Bill Dickson reported that 3 new employees have been hired and that ads will be placed seeking an UnderSheriff.  Gloria Moore, Tourism Director, spoke of recent visitors to the county.  Other departmental issues were discussed among those present.

David Willbrant, Public Works Administrator, gave weekly work report.  Project nos. 4387 and 4573 were discussed as well as asphalt plans.  It was decided that during the Hanover ARRA project that the asphalt west of the river bridge will be surfaced with hot mix.  Robert Holle asked if the Hanover project would interfere with the parades on June 4 and 5.  It was agreed that public works will deliver asphalt millings to the fairground area in Hanover.  The board approved and Chairman Helms signed payroll change notices for Jacob Beikman, effective May 18, 2010 and Kent Kruse, effective May 24, 2010, as summer hires.

The board adjourned at 12:10 P.M. for lunch and reconvened at 1:00 P.M.

The board spoke via telephone with Elizabeth Hiltgen, County Attorney, on various matters.

Everett Lutjemeier, Washington County Hospital Administrator, and Joe Hurla, 360 Energy Solutions, met with the commission to discuss a grant application for replacement of a boiler at the hospital.  Roger Otott moved to sign a design services agreement with 360 Energy Solutions and a grant application to the State of Kansas for 60/40 grant funding for a boiler.  Alison Mueller seconded and motion carried.

Christy L’Ecuyer, Business Coordinator, reported on grants available and contacts that she received in office.  At 2:15 P.M. Alison Mueller moved to go into executive session with Christy for 5 minutes under the trade secrets exception.  Roger Otott seconded and motion carried.  At 2:20 P.M. the board returned to regular session.  No action was taken.

Meeting adjourned at 2:45 P.M.

About Jeff Ottens