Marysville, KansasLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.
Home | KNDY News | Six SCC Students Among 29 Honored During PTK Event

Six SCC Students Among 29 Honored During PTK Event

Six students from Southeast Community College were among 29 honored Wednesday during the annual Phi Theta Kappa All-Nebraska Academic Team ceremony and luncheon held in Lincoln.

Coca-Cola is a new sponsor of the team, in conjunction with PTK. Students selected are members of the 2010 Coca-Cola All-State Community College Academic Team.

Andy Connell of Marysville, Kan. (Land Surveying/Civil Engineering); Angela Dunn of Wymore (Human Services); Jenny Hoffman of Friend (Business Administration); Cathy Leverett of Lincoln (Academic Transfer); Julia Thompson of Friend (Business Administration); and Jo Vostrez of Beatrice (Business Administration) were the SCC students honored.

Thompson has been selected as a 2010 Coca-Cola National Finalist, based on scores earned in the All-USA Academic Team competition. The program is sponsored by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation and is administered by PTK Honor Society. As a national finalist, Thompson will receive a check for $1,000 later this summer.

Vostrez addressed the audience during a luncheon in the students’ honor at the Cornhusker Marriott Hotel. She retraced her path to becoming a college student as an adult learner.

“There was a point in my life when I realized that it was time for me to move on and do something for me,” Vostrez said. “I’ve thoroughly enjoyed my time at SCC.”

Students, relatives, friends and representatives from the six community colleges attended the ceremony at the Capitol and the luncheon. Students were awarded medallions and certificates during the ceremony in the Warner Chamber at the Capitol. Gov. Dave Heineman, who presented students with medallions, told the students how proud he was of them and their achievements.

“You all are tremendous examples of Nebraska and its work ethic,” he said. “Community colleges are vital to our state’s economy. I offer my sincere congratulations to each of you and wish you all the best.”

Dr. Greg Smith, president of Central Community College, presided over the events.

Dennis Baack, executive director of the Nebraska Community College Association, presented each student a certificate.

About Derek Nester

Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids, and graduated from Valley Heights High School in May of 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communication. After stops at KFRM and KCLY radio in Clay Center, he joined KNDY in 2002 as a board operator and play by play announcer. Derek is now responsible for the digital content of Dierking Communications, Inc. six radio stations. In 2005 Derek joined the staff of KCFX radio in Kansas City as a production coordinator for the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, which airs on over 70 radio stations across 12 Midwest states and growing.